We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.

Get the Magazine

Members of Toronto’s design and architecture community gathered at the terrace of Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre to learn which of the 600 submissions from 25 countries were picked as winners of the first annual AZ Awards. Thanking all who entered the awards, as well as its sponsors – Audi, Caesarstone and Keilhauer – Azure’s publisher, Sergio Sgaramella, turned the microphone over to editor Nelda Rodger, who announced the winners.

They range from a stunning all-glass Valcucine kitchen that disassembles for recycling (winner in the Best Furniture Systems category) and an ingenious portable prayer mat (the A+ student award prize), to an oceanside artist residence on Newfoundland’s Fogo Island by Todd Saunders of Norway (Best Commercial Building), and a mind-expanding concept for a vertical amusement park, dreamt up by Ju-Hyun Kim of New York. Kim’s multi-storey park, which features a skyhigh ferris wheel and spiralling water shoot, was winner of both the jury-selected Best Unrealized Concept award, and the People’s Choice.

Montreal’s Saucier + Perrotte was the biggest winner of the night, taking two top prizes: one for its exquisite urban spa in downtown Montreal, Scandinave Les Bains (Best Commercial Space), and for an expansion plan for Quebec City’s Musée National des Beaux Arts du Quebec (Best Competiton Scheme).

The 14 winners were selected by our international jury, comprised of landscape architect Claude Cormier, industrial designer Patty Johnson, architect Craig Dykers of Snøhetta, interior designer Glenn Pushelberg of Yabu Pushelberg, and designer Eero Koivisto, of Stockholm’s Claesson Koivisto Rune.

Here is the entire list of jury-selected winners, along with the 14 People’s Choice Award winners and the 38 finalists. Congratulations to everyone. Check out our July/August issue featuring all the winners and finalists, and hitting newsstands June 27 (July 7, in the U.S.).

Best Furniture Design

Winner of the jury award and the People’s Choice award: Ply Shelves designed by Matter Design and manufactured by C. W. Keller

Finalists: Prostheses and Grafts by Studio MK27, Softseating by Stephanie Forsythe and Todd MacAllen for Molo Design, and Suita Sofa designed by Antonio Citterio and manufactured by Vitra

Best Furniture Systems Design

Winner and People’s Choice: Invitrum kitchen designed by Gabriele Centazzo and manufactured by Valcucine

Finalist: Softwall and Softblock by Stephanie Forsythe and Todd MacAllen for Molo Design

Best Lighting Design

Winner: Softlight by Stephanie Forsythe and Todd MacAllen for Molo Design

People’s Choice: Canopy by United Visual Artists

Finalist: Series 28 by Bocci

Best Interior Products Design

Winner and People’s Choice: SensoWash Starck designed by Philippe Starck and manufactured by Duravit

Finalists: Classic Fjord Teapot & Accessories designed by Paul Thonis and manufactured by Lenox, and Image-In designed by Jean Lacroix and manufactured by Wetstyle

Best Residential Architecture

Winner: Linear House by Patkau Architects

People’s Choice: 60 Richmond East Housing Co-op by Teeple Architects

Finalists: Porchdog by Marlon Blackwell Architect, Punta House by Studio MK27, Refugium of a Forester by Petra Gipp Arkitektur, and Weekend House by Julie Snow Architects

Best Commercial Architecture

Winner and People’s Choice: Long Studio by Saunders Arkitektur

Finalists: Garoa Store by Una Arquitetos, and Spiralab by KINO Architects

Best Landscape Architecture

Winner: Ballast Point Park by McGregor Coxall

People’s Choice: Trinity College Quadrangle by gh3

Finalist: Old Post Office Plaza by Baird Sampson Neuert Architects

Best Temporary Architecture

Winner: Dunhill Installation by Campaign Design Studio

People’s Choice: 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics’ Ontario Pavilion by Hariri Pontarini Architects

Finalists: Denis Gagnon Shows All by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes, Eda by Emmanuelle Moureaux Architecture + Design, and Flockr by SO-IL

Best Residential Interior

Winner: Strelein Warehouse by Ian Moore Architects

People’s Choice: Crosstown Loft by Campos Leckie Studio

Finalists: Canadian Olympian Inspired Suite by Kodu Design, and Record House Revisted by David Jameson Architect

Best Commercial Interior

Winner: Scandinave les Bains by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes

People’s Choice: DRU Cultural Factory by M + R Interior Architecture

Finalists: Avenue Road Showroom by Yabu Pushelberg, Bar Agricole by Aidlin Darling Design, Kirk Originals Store by Campaign Design Studio, and Michel Brisson Menswear by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes

Best Unbuilt Competition Scheme

Winner: Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Quebec by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes

People’s Choice: Openair by JET Architecture, CXT Architects, and Archasia Design Group

Best Unrealized Concept

Winner and People’s Choice: Metropolitan Vertical Amusement Park by Ju-Hyun Kim

Finalists: Urbaneering Brooklyn, NY 2110 by Terreform ONE, and Water Proving Ground by LTL Architects

A+ Award for best student project

Winner: Temporary Mosque by Alexander Josephson (University of Waterloo, Ontario)

People’s Choice: Visions of Settlement by Katherine Kovalcik (University of Waterloo, Ontario)

Finalists: The Cave by Gonzalo Vaíllo Martínez, and Subterranean Apertures by Stephen Kaye (Ets Arquitectura Y Geodésia, Universidad de Alcalá, Madrid)

Jury Award

Winner: Hydroelectric Lamp by Hierve Diseñería

People’s Choice: OMS Stage by 5468796 Architecture

Finalists: Composting Shed by Groves-Raines Architects, and The Spiritree by URBANA Arquitectura

We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.