We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.

Get the Magazine

Azure AZ Award Winners 2013 00
Artists and craftsmen Dave Milum of Accents of Distinction and Scott Eunson combined Caesarstone’s Piatra Grey and carved baltic birch ply to create the unique award trophies.

Representing a global snapshot of the world of architecture and design, submissions came in from designers, architects, firms and manufacturers, as well as students of design and architecture.

The international jury consisted of architects Shirley Blumberg of Toronto’s Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg and Todd Saunders of Oslo’s Saunders Architecture, furniture designer Todd Bracher of New York’s Todd Bracher Studio, interior designer George Yabu of Yabu Pushelberg (based in Toronto and New York), New York landscape architect Ken Smith of Workshop, and visionary Milan-based manufacturer and designer Giulio Cappellini of Cappellini. In March, the panel conferred at Toronto’s Hôtel Le Germain (Maple Leaf Square) to narrow down an impressive 677 entries from 38 countries to a shortlist of 43 finalists. From there, they selected the 14 outstanding winners listed below.


Azure AZ Award Winners 2013 01
Best Furniture Design – Marina (left)
Designers: Bruno Fattorini and Robin Rizzini of Bruno Fattorini & Partners, Milan
Manufacturer: Extremis, Belgium

Best Furniture System Design – Sidewise (right)
Designers: Christopher Wright and Steve Tsai of Figure3, Toronto
Manufacturer: Teknion, Toronto

Azure AZ Award Winners 2013 02
Best Lighting Design – Städel Museum Skylight Installation (left)
Firms: Schneider + Schumacher, Frankfurt; and Licht Kunst Licht, Bonn
Team: Tanja Baum, Till Schneider and Michael Schumacher, with Thomas Möritz, Alexander Rotsch, Andreas Schultz and Mieke Van der Velden

Best Interior Product Design – Aria Collection (right)
Firm: Amala Carpets, Toronto
Team: Shan Shrestha and family


Azure AZ Award Winners 2013 03
Best Commercial Architecture Over 1,000 Square Metres – University of British Columbia Faculty of Pharmacy (top left)
Firms: Saucier + Perrotte Architectes, Montreal; and Hughes Condon Marler Architects, Vancouver
Team: Roger Hughes, André Perrotte and Gilles Saucier, with Craig Lane, David Moreaux and Bill Ullrich

Best Landscape Architecture – Place des Festivals (bottom left)
Firm: Daoust Lestage, Montreal
Team: Réal Lestage with Caroline Beaulieu, Lucie Bibeau, Renée Daoust, Marie-Josée Gagnon, Marie-Pier Marchand, François Ménard, Stéphane Savoie, Eveline Simard, Catherine St-Marseille and Nathalie Trudel

Best Residential Architecture – Echo Ridge Duplexes (right)
Firm: El Dorado, Kansas City, Missouri
Team: Josh Shelton, with Steve Salzer

Azure AZ Award Winners 2013 04
Best Commercial Architecture Under 1,000 Square Metres – Vitrines Habitées (left)
Firm: Daoust Lestage
Team: Renée Daoust and Réal Lestage, with Caroline Beaulieu, Jean-François Bilodeau, Marc Duchesne, Marie-Josée Gagnon, François Ménard, Stéphane Savoie, Catherine St-Marseille and Nathalie Trudel

Best Temporary or Demonstration Architecture – Hygge House (right)
Firms: Plain Projects, with UrbanInk and Pike Projects, all of Winnipeg
Team: Liz Wreford Taylor, with Colin Grover, Marcelle Lussier, Evan Marnoch and Shawn Stankewich


Azure AZ Award Winners 2013 05
Best Commercial Interior – HafenCity University Subway Station (left)

Firms: D-Lightvision, Design Stauss Grillmeier, Pfarré Lighting Design and Raupach Architekten, all of Munich
Team: Christian Raupach, with Erwin Döring, Gerd Pfarré and Kilian Stauss

Best Residential Interior – Mini-Studio (right)
Firm: Frente Arquitectura, Mexico City
Team: Juan Pablo Maza, with Estefanía Hoth and Daniel Nava


Best Unrealized Concept or Prototype – Valley City Qatar (top)
Firm: MZ Architects, Lebanon
Team: Marwan Zgheib

Best Unbuilt Competition Entry – Cristal (bottom)
Firm: Sitbon Architectes, Paris
Team: Emmanuel Sitbon with Selma Feriani


Best Student Work – Elevator B
Designers: Courtney Creenan, Kyle Mastalinski, Daniel Nead, Scott Selin and Lisa Stern, from the University at Buffalo

Recipients of the 2013 People’s Choice Awards and Awards of Merit will be announced Monday, June 17. For images of all 46 finalists, visit v2com.biz.

All winners and Awards of Merit are featured in the Annual Awards Issue, on newsstands June 17 in Canada, June 24 in the U.S. and July 4 worldwide.

We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.