Announcing the Winners of the 2015 AZ Awards

Announcing the Winners of the 2015 AZ Awards

Top players in the international architectural and design community, from Canada, the U.S., Denmark and beyond, gathered at Toronto’s Evergreen Brick Works tonight as Azure announced the winners of its fifth annual AZ Awards.

From affordable housing in France that borders on minimalist luxury, to Kickstarter-funded tiles made from old television sets and computer monitors, the 19 winners of the AZ Awards demonstrate an expansive spirit of innovation. At tonight’s event, many of the winners took to the stage – some coming from as far away as Denmark and Dubai – to receive their trophies, which were designed by last year’s guest of honour, Karim Rashid. All 66 of the finalists, which were also up for People’s Choice awards, were applauded by a standing-room-only audience.

Taken together, all of the submissions – from designers, architects, firms and manufacturers, as well as students of design and architecture – represent a global snapshot of the world of architecture and design. Our international jury was also made up of some of the very best in their fields: architect Winka Dubbeldam of Archi-Tectonics (New York, US), architect Brendan MacFarlane of Jakob + MacFarlane (Paris, France), designer Anwar Mekhayech of the Design Agency (Toronto, Canada), landscape architect Janet Rosenberg of Janet Rosenberg & Studio (Toronto, Canada) and designer Philippe Malouin (London, UK).

In March, the panel conferred at Toronto’s Thompson Hotel to narrow down an impressive 720 entries from 43 countries to a shortlist of 66 finalists. From there, they selected the 19 outstanding winners, which are featured below.


Azure AZ Awards Arch Single Family

Best Residential Architecture – Single Family: PARA-Project: Haffenden House, Syracuse, USA


Azure AZ Awards Multi Unit

Best Residential Architecture – Multi-Unit: Antonini Darmon: Oiseau des Îles Social Housing, Nantes, France


Azure AZ Awards Arch Comm Over

Best Commercial  ⁄ Institutional Architecture Over 1,000 Square Metres: John Wardle Architects and NADAAA in collaboration: Melbourne School of Design, Melbourne, Australia


Azure AZ Awards Arch Comm Under

Best Commercial  ⁄  Institutional Architecture Under 1,000 Square Metres: SchilderScholte Architecten: Pani Community Centre, Rajarhat, Bangladesh


Azure AZ Awards Arch Landscape

Best Landscape Architecture: GH3: June Callwood Park, Toronto, Canada


Azure AZ Awards Arch Temp Demo

Best Temporary /  Demonstration Architecture: Philip Beesley Architect: Epiphyte Chamber, Seoul, Korea



Azure AZ Awards Interior Res

Best Residential Interior: Francesco Librizzi Studio: Casa G, Sicily, Italy


Azure AZ Awards Interior Comm

Best Commercial  ⁄ Institutional Interior: Burdifilek: Galleria Luxury Hall West, Seoul, Korea



Azure AZ Awards Design Furniture

Best Furniture Design: Arper: Kinesit, by Lievore Altherr Molina


Azure AZ Awards Design Furn Sys

Best Furniture System: Randers + Radius: Grip Tablesystem, by GrumDesign


Azure AZ Awards Lighting

Best Lighting Fixture: Vibia: Wireflow, by Arik Levy


Azure AZ Awards Light Install

Best Lighting Installation: Licht Kunst Licht: Art Museum Ahrenshoop


Azure AZ Awards Interior Product

Best Interior Product: Fireclay Tile: CRT Glass Tile, by Paul Burns



Azure AZ Awards Unbuilt Comp

Best Unbuilt Competition Entry: Steven Christensen Architecture: Liepaja Thermal Bath


Azure AZ Awards Concept Proto

Best Concept / Prototype: Andrei Gheorghe: Robotic Infiltrations



Azure AZ Awards Student A+ Winner

Danny Karas (SCI-Arc, Los Angeles, USA): M&N



Azure AZ Awards Social Good Toigetation

H&P Architects: Toigetation, Cao Bang, Vietnam


Azure AZ Awards Social Good Fogo

Saunders Architecture: Fogo Island Inn, Newfoundland, Canada



Azure AZ Awards Environmental

Sofia Ceylan, Katharina Laekamp and Leonie Otten: Memory of the Arctic

For more images, visit v2com.

All winners and finalists are featured in the Annual Awards Issue, on newsstands today in Canada and June 29 in the U.S.

A word from our sponsors

A word from our sponsors