Winners of the 2016 OAA Awards Announced

Winners of the 2016 OAA Awards Announced

On Friday night, 21 projects and practitioners were honoured at the 2016 OAA Awards ceremony in Toronto. Capping off the Ontario Association of Architects’ 2016 conference, the event celebrated previously announced winners, as well as three top award recipients kept under wraps until the big night.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Richard Ivey Building Hariri Pontarini

The biggest prize of the evening, the Lieutenant Governor’s Award, went to Hariri Pontarini, for the Richard Ivey Building, Richard Ivey School of Business, at Western University in London, Ontario. Built using local materials such as stone, copper, steel, walnut, and Douglas fir, the structure’s quadrangle layout was devised to bring natural light into the entire building, through operable windows that allow cross-ventilation as well.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Prince Arthurs Landing Thunder Bay Waterfront Brook Mcllroy

Brook Mcllroy took home the Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award, which recognizes architectural excellence for Ontario projects completed for under eight million dollars. The firm transformed Thunder Bay’s historic port into Prince Arthur’s Landing, an attractive waterfront destination and mixed-use neighbourhood.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Aga Khan Museum Moriyama and Teshima

For the People’s Choice award, the public vote chose the Aga Khan Museum, by Moriyama & Teshima Architects in association with Tokyo firm Maki and Associates. Rising on a nondescript area on the outskirts of Toronto, the institution’s striking sculptural form combines a boxy, angular structure and a glass pyramid atop a round podium.

These three major awards were chosen from among nine Design Excellence Award winners; the remaining projects in the category are:

Azure 2016 OAA Awards Toronto Public Library Scarborough Civic Centre Branch LGA Architectural Partners and Phillip H. Carter Architects

The Toronto Public Library Scarborough Civic Centre Branch, in Toronto, by LGA Architectural Partners in joint venture with Phillip H. Carter, Architect.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre KPMB Architects HCMA Architecture

The Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre, at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver by KPMB Architects in joint venture with Vancouver firm HCMA Architecture + Design.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Skygarden House Dubbeldam Architecture

Skygarden House, in Toronto, designed by Dubbeldam Architecture + Design.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Harbord Towns Superkul

Harbord Towns Toronto, by Superkül.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Go Home Bay Cabin Ian McDonald Architect

Go Home Bay Cabin, in Georgian Bay Township, Ontario, by Ian MacDonald Architect.


Azure 2016 OAA Awards Commonwealth Community Recreation Centre Maclennan Jaunkalns Miller and HIP Architects

And Commonwealth Community Recreation Centre in Edmonton, by MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects  and local firm HIP Architects.

Ten other awards were handed out on Friday, including the Lifetime Design Achievement Award, which went to Toronto architect/educator and former dean of the University of Toronto Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design, George P. Baird. Toronto firm Denegri Bessai was named Best Emerging Practice, and the Order of da Vinci was bestowed upon heritage consultant and forrner chief architect for the Toronto Historical Board, William N. Greer.

Here‘s a complete list of the 2016 OAA Award winners.

A word from our sponsors

A word from our sponsors