Building 4Humanity Resilient Design Competition


Registration Deadline

Submission Deadline

Architecture August 7, 2018 August 30, 2018

Please note that this competition has expired and is for reference only. See our active listings for competitions.

Internationally adopted in 2015, the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reductionaims to achieve in 2030 “the substantial reduction of disaster risk and losses in lives, livelihoods and health and in the economic, physical, social, cultural and environmental assets of persons, businesses, communities and countries” (UNISDR, 2015).

In the spirit of this framework, we invite professionals and students in the fields of architecture, urban design, urban planning, landscape architecture, engineering, design and everyone interested in the mission of the 8th International Conference on Building Resilience to submit their projects and ideas to the Building 4Humanity Resilient Design Competition.

The competition is organized by the NGO Building 4Humanity and supported by the 8th ICBR (Lisbon ’2018). Teams composed of students or professionals from private practices, public entities and/or NGOs are welcome. Each design team should be composed of no less than three and no more than six participants, while interdisciplinary teams are highly encouraged.

The competition is open to two types of teams:

  • Professional teams, comprising at least one qualified architect.

  • Student teams, including one professor (as supervisor) with a practical background in architecture and two to five students.

​Design teams may submit more than one project, but each entry must be registered and submitted separately, under a specific ID number.

The Building 4Humanity Resilient Design Competition will also feature, as a special award, The Marielle Franco Community-Design Award, to honour the legacy of the late Marielle Franco and her persistent work towards the right to the city and to safe and decent housing for the inhabitants of favelas of Rio de Janeiro (find more information about this award here).

The programme of the competition is open, covering design for resilience in any stage of the disaster risk management cycle – that is, focusing on either mitigation (“building better from the start”) or recovery (“building back better”). Each team should present its own preliminary programme in the act of registration. Applicants must identify and choose a disaster-prone area and showcase ideas of how resilient houses and settlements can support the building of communities’ resilience. Alternatively, submissions may refer to already built resilient houses.

As a mere suggestion, different baseline scenarios in any part of the world could be thought of, such as:

  • A wildfire risk-prone low-density or rural area

  • A flood-prone area

  • A tsunami-prone area

  • An earthquake-prone area

  • A drought-prone area

  • A hurricane-prone area

  • A landslide-prone area

  • A refugee camp

  • Multifamily houses hosting refugees, concentrated in consolidated urban areas

  • A densely built informal area prone to multi-hazard disaster risks

Visit the Competition website for more information.