Prix du XXe siècle 2018


Submission Deadline

Architecture January 19, 2018

Please note that this competition has expired and is for reference only. See our active listings for competitions.

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada and the National Trust for Canada wish to promote public awareness of significant Canadian architecture of the recent past.

The Prix du XXe Siècle recognizes buildings over 25 years old that have become landmarks of Canadian architecture.  The prize celebrates design quality as well as enduring excellence, recognizing the design of the original architect and/or firm as well as the on-going stewardship of the owner of the building.

Submissions will be judged on the following:

  • the building has national significance;
  • the building remains an enduring work of architecture;
  • the qualities of the building may reflect: conceptual originality; technical advancement; innovation of its time; and/or symbolic significance;
  • the features of the work have not been substanially altered since its construction;
  • the building has been preserved over time through sensitive stewardship of its original qualities.

Visit the Competition website for more information.