We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.

Get the Magazine

In March, our international jury conferred at Toronto’s Hôtel Le Germain at Maple Leaf Square to narrow down 677 entries to a shortlist of 46 finalists. These included the 32 projects, products and concepts below that received Awards of Merit.

The panel consisted of architects Shirley Blumberg of Toronto’s Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg and Todd Saunders of Oslo’s Saunders Architecture, furniture designer Todd Bracher of New York’s Todd Bracher Studio, interior designer George Yabu of Yabu Pushelberg (based in Toronto and New York), New York landscape architect Ken Smith of Workshop, and visionary Milan-based manufacturer and designer Giulio Cappellini of Cappellini.



Miniscule (left)
Designer: Cecilie Manz, Copenhagen
Manufacturer: Republic of Fritz Hansen

People’s Choice Winner: Street Football Seat Ball (right)
Studio: Fábrica, Guatemala City
Team: Ana Claudia González and Hubert Schoba

Interior Products

Chillida Rugs (left)
Designer: Nani Marquina, Barcelona
Manufacturer: Nanimarquina

Sento (right)
Design Firm: Angeletti Ruzza, Rieti, Italy
Team: Silvana Angeletti, with Daniele Ruzza
Manufacturer: Graff

Azure Announcing the AZ Awards of Merit 15


Aim (left)
Designers: Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, Paris
Manufacturer: Flos

DR700 Retrofit Bulb (right)
Designers: David O’Driscoll with Nathan Moffatt, Collingwood, Australia
Manufacturer: Brightgreen

Azure Announcing the AZ Awards of Merit 16

Furniture Systems

People’s Choice Winner: Meccanica Kitchen
Design Firm: Démodé, Pordenone, Italy
Designer: Gabriele Centazzo
Manufacturer: Valcucine


Residential Architecture

OLS House, Stuttgart (left)
Firm: J. Mayer H. Architects, Berlin
Team: Jürgen Mayer H. and Marcus Blum, with Paul Angelier, Julian Blümle, Sebastian Finckh and Hugo Reis

People’s Choice Winner: D House, Brittany, France (right)
Firm: Lode Architecture, Paris
Team: Arnaud Lacoste and Jérôme Vinçon, with Guillaume Choplain, Hélène Gasnier and Stéphane Saltzmann

Azure Announcing the AZ Awards of Merit 18

Casa Alta II, Huixquilucan de Degollado, Mexico
Firm: AS/D Associación de Diseno, Tecamachalco, Mexico
Team: Paola Morales and Fernando Velasco, with Santiago García de Letona, Natalia Gomez, Piergianna Mazzocca and Fernando Polidura

Azure Announcing the AZ Awards of Merit 17

Commercial Architecture Over 1,000 Square Metres

People’s Choice Winner: Soumaya Museum, Mexico City
Firm: FR-EE Fernando Romero Enterprise, Mexico City
Team: Fernando Romero, with Mauricio Ceballos

RMIT Design Hub, Melbourne, Australia (left)
Firm: Sean Godsell Architects, Melbourne
Team: Sean Godsell with Hayley Franklin

Barclays Arena, Brooklyn, New York (right)
Firm: SHoP Architects, New York
Team: Nadine Berger, Christopher Lee, Adam Modesitt and Ayumi Sugiyama of SHoP Architects, and John Cerone and Brian Sweeney of SHoP Construction

Commercial Architecture Under 1,000 Square Metres

Kindergarten, Samedan, Switzerland (above left)
Firm: Gredig Walser, Chur, Switzerland
Team: Joos Gredig and Peter Walser, with Lea Condrau

Boulevard Brewing Company, Cellar 1 Expansion, Kansas City, Missouri (below left)
Firm: El Dorado, Kansas City
Team: Josh Shelton, with Chris Burk, Brandon Froelich and Steve Salzer

Trail Center at Camp Prairie Schooner, Kansas City, Missouri (right)
Firm: El Dorado, Kansas City
Team: Douglas Stockman, with Sean Slattery

Landscape Architecture

Hariri Memorial Garden, Beirut (left)
Firm: Vladimir Djurovic Landscape Architecture, Broumana, Lebanon
Team: Vladimir Djurovic, with Salim Kanaan and Rafi Karakashian

Troost Bridge, Kansas City, Missouri (right)
Firm: El Dorado, Kansas City
Team: David Dowell, with Chris Burk

Temporary Architecture

Swarms Pavilion, Kwangju, South Korea (left)
Firm: Nadaaa, Boston
Team: Nader Tehrani, with Sarah Dunbar and Ryan Murphy

Imagination Playground Exhibit, National Building Museum, Washington, D.C. (right)
Firm: Rockwell Group, New York
Team: David Rockwell and Barry Richards, with Lab at Rockwell Group


Residential Interiors

People’s Choice Winner: Inhabitable Sculpture (left)
Firm: Inpho Architecture, Montreal
Designer: Jean-Maxime Labrecque

Ebell Loft, Long Beach, California (right)
Firm: Hong Kong Stunt Team, Santa Ana
Designer: Hing Yeung

Commercial Interiors

Shopbop Headquarters, New York (left)
Firm: SHoP Architects, New York
Designer: Kimberly J. Holden, Gregg A. Pasquarelli, Christopher R. Sharples, Coren D. Sharples and William Sharples

People’s Choice Winner: Momofuku Restaurant, Toronto (right)
Firm: The Design Agency, Toronto
Designer: Allen Chan and Anwar Mekhayech, with Matt Davis, Lorelei Lucas and Shady Wanis


National Music Centre of Canada, Calgary (left)
Firm: Allied Works Architecture, Portland, Oregon
Team: Brad Cloepfil, with Chelsea Grassinger, Dan Koch, Kyle Lommen and Daniel Richmond

Thonet Concept Bike (above right)
Designer: Andy Martin Studio, London, U.K.

Tensegrity Space Frame Light (below right)
Designer: Michal Maciej Bartosik, Toronto


Thalie (left)
Student: Julie Richoz, École Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne (ECAL), Switzerland

People’s Choice Winner: Essentials (right)
Team: Carl Emil Jacobsen and Daniel Kowal, Kolding School of Design, Denmark

X-Scape (left)
Team: Aaron Choi and Diego Valencia with Brett Berger, Christine Phu, Kim Stevenson and faculty member Philip Horton, Arizona State University

Food and Energy (above right)
Team: Arina Agieieva and Dmytro Zhuikov, Dessau Institute of Architecture

Václav Havel’s Monument (below right)
Designer: Libor Senekel, Technical University of Liberec, Czech Republic

For images of all 46 finalists, visit v2com.biz

All winners and Awards of Merit are featured in the Annual Awards Issue, on newsstands June 17 in Canada, June 24 in the U.S. and July 4 worldwide.

We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.