We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.

Get the Magazine

Update: The winners have been announced! Click here to find out which projects took home prizes.

In March, our five jurors – planner and landscape ecologist Nina-Marie Lister of Plandform, interior designer Alessandro Munge of Studio Munge, industrial designer Theo Richardson of Rich Brilliant Willing, architect Nader Tehrani of NADAAA, and designer Michael Vanderbyl of Vanderbyl Design – met, debated and narrowed down the spectacular number of international entries to 70 finalists. We are thrilled to present those that won over our discerning jury.

The winners from the list of finalists will be announced at our gala event, which will be held at Toronto’s Evergreen Brick Works on June 23rd. All of the winners and finalists will be featured in our July / August issue, available on newsstands at the end of June.

Now it’s your turn to get involved! On April 6th we will be turning to you to vote for your favourite designs and projects during the popular People’s Choice.

The 2017 AZ AWARDS is presented by Audi, Cosentino, DXV, Keilhauer, and Rado, and is sponsored by TD Bank Group, Urban Capital and George Brown School of Design.

The AZ Awards Gala is sponsored by Alpi, Bauhaus and Euro-Line.


Residential Architecture – Single Family

Jean Verville Architecte: FAHOUSE, Quebec, Canada

Omar Gandhi Architect and Design Base 8: Rabbit Snare Gorge, Cape Breton, Canada

Palinda Kannangara Architects: Studio Dwelling, Rajagiriya, Sri Lanka

People’s Architecture Office: Mrs. Fan’s Plugin House, Beijing, China

Studio mk27: Jungle House, Guarujá, Brazil


Residential Architecture – Multi-Unit

BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group: The Grove at Grand Bay, Miami, U.S.

FXFOWLE Architects: 35XV, New York, U.S.

Hiroyuki Ito Architects: Tatsumi Apartment House, Tokyo, Japan

MAD Architects: Huangshan Mountain Village, Huangshan, China


Commercial / Institutional Architecture Over 1,000 Square Metres

Atelier du Pont: Community of Municipalities Offices, Les Herbiers, France

Gimeno Guitart: Santa Maria Parish Center, Tarragona, Spain

Hariri Pontarini Architects: Bahá’í Temple of South America, Santiago, Chile

Henning Larsen Architects: Frederiksbjerg School, Aarhus, Denmark

Patkau Architects: Audain Art Museum, Whistler, Canada

Steven Holl Architects: University of Iowa Visual Arts Building, Iowa City, U.S.


Commercial / Institutional Architecture Under 1,000 Square Metres

Anmahian Winton Architects: Gemma Observatory, New Hampshire, U.S.

Boda Architecture: Group 8 Headquarters, Seoul, South Korea

Neri&Hu Design and Research Office: Suzhou Chapel, Suzhou, China


Recreational Architecture Under 1,000 Square Metres

Kleinfeldt Mychajlowycz Architects: 2015 Pan Am and Para Pan Am Legacy BMX Supercross Track, Toronto, Canada

The Marc Boutin Architectural Collaborative: John Fry Sports Park Pavilion, Edmonton, Canada

Matter Design and FR|SCH Projects: Five Fields Play Structure, Lexington, U.S.


Temporary / Demonstration Architecture

Matter Design: Microtherme, Boston, U.S.

People’s Architecture Office: People’s Canopy, Preston, U.K.


Landscape Architecture

Turenscape: Quzhou Luming Park, Quzhou, China

Victoria Taylor Landscape Architect: Public Laneway Puncture, Toronto, Canada

West 8: Governors Island Phase 2: The Hills, New York, U.S.


Residential Interiors

Audax with Pencil Design: Strata House, Toronto, Canada

Desai Chia Architecture: Photographer’s Loft, New York, U.S.

FM.X Interior Design: Returning Hut, Fujian, China


Commercial / Institutional Interiors

Assembly Design Studio: Uber Advanced Technologies Group, Pittsburgh, U.S.

Fieldevo Design Studio: NCTU Innovation Centre, Hsinchi, Taiwan

Hallucinate Design Office: Midwest Inland Port Financial Town, Xi’an, China

João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto: Claus Porto Flagship Store, Lisbon, Portugal

Maurice Mentjens: House of Smart, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Neri&Hu Design and Research Office: The HUB Performance and Exhibition Center, Shanghai, China


Furniture Design

Coalesse: LessThanFive Chair designed by Michael Young

DDC: Sign Filo

Estúdio Ronald Sasson: Armchair Yori

Neal Aronowitz Design: Whorl Table

Republic of Fritz Hansen: Pair Chair designed by Benjamin Hubert


Furniture Systems

Keilhauer: Hangout Collection designed by EOOS

Teknion: Zones designed with PearsonLloyd


Lighting Fixtures

Brightgreen: Surface-Mounted Wall Light Collection

Davide Groppi: Infinito

Flos: Infra-Structure designed by Vincent Van Duysen


Lighting Installations

Castor Design: Particle Accelerator

Lichtvision (Lighting Design) and Random International (Concept): Swarm Study / IX

CannonDesign and NEUF architect(e)s: CHUM Passerelle


Interior Products

Agape: Dot Line designed by García Cumini

Wolf Gordon: Mae Engelgeer Collection

Young Projects: Pulled Plaster Panels


Architectural Products

Nemo Tile & Stone: Think Thin

Rimadesio: Soho Sliding Doors designed by Giuseppe Bavuso

Co.Studio: Andrew faucet for RVB



Adamiczka Consulting: A Church for the Local Community, Wrocław, Poland

Belzberg Architects: Zacatecas, Mexico City, Mexico

Sanjay Puri Architects: Iskcon Temple, Ahmedabad, India


Experiential Graphic Design

Form:Media and Ekistics Planning & Design: Batoche National Historic Site, Batoche, Canada

Civiliti: Outremont Campus Viaduct, Montreal, Canada

Volume Inc: Bloomberg SF Tech Hub, San Francisco, U.S.


A+ Student Award

Caio Barboza and Sofia Blanco Santos, Harvard University Graduate School of Design: Aéreo

Tomas Broma, Wrocław University of Science and Technology: S’lowtecture: Housing Structure

Students of Design/Build LAB at Virginia Tech: Sharon Fields

Students of Kansas State University Design+Make Studio: Preston Outdoor Education Station

Mark Hemphill (Savannah College of Art and Design): Wiggle Theory


Social Good

Architem Wolff Shapiro Kuskowski Architectes: Renovation of Homeless Shelter Cafeteria, Café and Kitchen, Montreal, Canada

OPSYS, RVTR and Ecological Design Lab at Ryerson University: Extraction (commissioned by the Art Gallery of Alberta), Venice, Italy

People’s Architecture Office: Mrs. Fan’s Plugin House, Beijing, China


Environmental Leadership Award

Edward Ogosta Architecture: Hangar Office, Culver City, U.S.

MGA | Michael Green Architecture: T3, Minneapolis, U.S.


We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.