We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.

Get the Magazine

AZ Awards 2023 open for submissions

It’s the beginning of a new year – and that means that it’s time to kick off the 2023 AZ Awards. Now open for submissions, AZURE’s annual competition is accepting entries – until February 24 – into its eight major categories, from architecture, landscapes and urban design to interiors, product design and the A+ Award for best student work. Enter here!

AZURE’s annual awards program continues to evolve: In 2021, we added the new category of Urban Design, encouraging developers to submit their projects; in 2022, a spectacular infrastructural project – the Tintagel Castle Footbridge in Cornwall, U.K., by Ney & Partners and William Matthews Associates – graced the cover of the July/August issue, our awards-dedicated edition. It was but one of 24 winners from around the world, including the Kornets Huts learning centre in Denmark by Reiulf Ramstad Arkitekter, Stacklab’s Stackabl furniture collection, and two standout projects by Omar Gandhi – the Peggy’s Cove promenade and his very own home in Halifax. (You can see them all on our virtual winners’ reveal platform.)

This year, in keeping with our ever-growing platform, we are introducing a new subcategory, Tech Products, in our Design category!

Our jury of internationally renowned practitioners in the areas of product design, architecture, landscape architecture and interiors will convene virtually to evaluate all entries. Past jurors have included Alison Brooks, Ma Yansong, Nader Tehrani, Nina-Marie Lister, Philippe Malouin, Marion Weiss, Róisín Lafferty, Craig Dykers, Sou Fujimoto and Patricia Urquiola. Stay tuned to find out who the members of the 2023 AZ Awards Jury will be!

Winners receive the AZ Awards trophy, recreated annually by a prominent designer – in past years such luminaries as Luca Nichetto, Michael Anastassiades, Matt Carr, Philippe Malouin, Karim Rashid and Ini Archibong have designed trophies for the AZ Awards. Look for announcements later this year about the 2023 AZ Awards trophy designer.

Azure and its partners encourage design and architecture professionals, developers, urban planners, students and manufacturers to submit their work to the AZ Awards for an opportunity to step into the global spotlight, elevate their profile, and raise public awareness for their firm and their clients.

Submissions close Friday, February 24, 2023 (early-bird deadline is January 31, 2023).

Online entry portal and more information at awards.azuremagazine.com 


The 2023 AZ Awards are open to:

  • Designers and design firms from all disciplines
  • Architects, landscape architects and architectural firms
  • Developers
  • Post-secondary students enrolled in design and architecture programs in 2022
  • Clients and manufacturers
  • Projects must be completed on or before December 31, 2022
  • Products must be prototyped or in production
  • Concepts must have been developed or presented for the first time in 2022


Architecture: Residential buildings; commercial and institutional buildings over 1,000 square metres; commercial and institutional buildings under 1,000 square metres; temporary and demonstration projects; adaptive re-use

Landscape Architecture: Public and private landscapes

Urban Design: Built and unbuilt multi-building development projects (commercial, residential or mixed-use); infrastructure; urban interventions

Interiors: Residential spaces; commercial and institutional spaces

Design: Single-piece furniture; furniture systems and collections; lighting fixtures; lighting schemes; interior products; architectural products
; *tech products (new!)

Experiential Graphic Design: Wayfinding; sign programs; information and map design; experiential brand identity

Concepts: Unbuilt competition entries and proposals; concepts/prototypes

A+ Award: Projects developed by a student enrolled in a post-secondary design or architecture program in 2022. The winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize. 

All entries may be considered for the Social Good Award and/or the Environmental Leadership Award by election. A winner in each of these two categories will be selected. Projects may be entered in one or both categories. 

For the Social Good Award, projects must advance social equity and have a positive impact on the collective realm.

For the Environmental Leadership Award, projects must show sensitivity and respect for the use and management of natural resources throughout their lifecycle, especially with respect to materials and energy use.

The 2023 AZ Awards is presented by CaesarstoneKeilhauer and Landscape Forms and sponsored by Colombo Design America. Gala sponsors are George Brown College’s Brookfield Sustainability Institute and Scavolini.

Media Partners: Archello, ArchDaily, Archilovers, Archinect, Archiproducts, The Architect’s Newspaper, Architonic, Bustler, Design Week Mexico, INDEX Design, Kollectif, v2com newswire and World-Architects.


January 3
Competition opens 

January 31
Early bird deadline 

February 24
Competition closes 

April 20
Finalists announced 

May 19
People’s Choice voting closes 

June 23
Winners are revealed 

Winners and finalists are showcased online, at the AZ Awards Gala and published in the AZ Awards Annual

AZ Awards 2023 is Open for Entries

Our annual international competition celebrating excellence in design, architecture, urbanism and much more is now ready for your submissions.

We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.