We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.

Get the Magazine

AZ Awards 2024 submission graphic

It’s the beginning of a new year – and that means that it’s time to kick off the 2024 AZ Awards. Open for submissions until February 23, AZURE’s 14th annual competition is accepting entries into its eight major categories, from architecture, landscapes and urban design to interiors, product design and the A+ Award for best student work. Enter here!

In 2023, our 13th edition celebrated more winners than ever — including MVRDV’s striking Valley mixed-use complex in Amsterdam and Shim-Sutcliffe’s exquisitely refined Ace Hotel Toronto. Gracing the cover of our AZ Awards annual issue, Dorte Mandrup’s Kangiata Illorsua/Ilulissat Icefjord Centre meets Greenland’s spectacular northern lights. Taken together, the 26 winners represent the world’s best in design at all scales and disciplines, ranging from Vibia’s ingenious Plusminus light fixtures and Paola Lenti’s unmistakable Metamorfosi furniture collection to 3XN’s upcycled Sydney skyscraper and Michael Maltzan Architecture’s Los Angeles Sixth Street Viaduct. (You can see them all online on the AZ Awards website.)

Our jury of internationally renowned practitioners in the areas of product design, architecture, landscape architecture and interiors will convene virtually to evaluate all entries. Past jurors have included Alison Brooks, Lawrence Scarpa, Ma Yansong, Nader Tehrani, Nina-Marie Lister, Pascale Sablan, Marion Weiss, Róisín Lafferty, Craig Dykers, Sou Fujimoto and Patricia Urquiola. Stay tuned to find out who the members of the 2024 AZ Awards Jury will be!

Winners receive the AZ Awards trophy, which is reimagined each year by a prominent designer. In past years such luminaries as Marie-Christine Dorner, Luca Nichetto, Michael Anastassiades, Philippe Malouin, Karim Rashid and Ini Archibong have designed trophies for the AZ Awards. Look for announcements later this year about the 2024 AZ Awards trophy designer.

AZURE and its partners encourage design and architecture professionals, developers, urban planners, students and manufacturers to submit their work to the AZ Awards for an opportunity to step into the global spotlight, elevate their profile, and raise public awareness for their firm and their clients.

Submissions close Friday, February 23, 2024 (early-bird deadline is January 31, 2024).

Online entry portal and more information at awards.azuremagazine.com 


The 2024 AZ Awards are open to:

  • Designers and design firms from all disciplines
  • Architects, landscape architects and architectural firms
  • Developers
  • Post-secondary students enrolled in design and architecture programs in 2023
  • Clients and manufacturers
  • Projects must be completed on or before December 31, 2023
  • Products must be prototyped or in production
  • Concepts must have been developed or presented for the first time in 2023


Architecture: Residential buildings; commercial and institutional buildings over 1,000 square metres; commercial and institutional buildings under 1,000 square metres; temporary and demonstration projects; adaptive re-use

Landscape Architecture: Public and private landscapes

Urban Design: Built and unbuilt multi-building development projects (commercial, residential or mixed-use); infrastructure; urban interventions

Interiors: Residential spaces; commercial and institutional spaces

Design: Single-piece furniture; furniture systems and collections; lighting fixtures; lighting schemes; interior products; architectural products
; *tech products (new!)

Experiential Graphic Design: Wayfinding; sign programs; information and map design; experiential brand identity

Concepts: Unbuilt competition entries and proposals; concepts/prototypes

A+ Award: Projects developed by a student enrolled in a post-secondary design or architecture program in 2023. The winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize.

All entries may be considered for the Social Good Award and/or the Environmental Leadership Award by election. A winner in each of these two categories will be selected. Projects may be entered in one or both categories. 

For the Social Good Award, projects must advance social equity and have a positive impact on the collective realm.

For the Environmental Leadership Award, projects must show sensitivity and respect for the use and management of natural resources throughout their lifecycle, especially with respect to materials and energy use.

The 2024 AZ Awards is presented by Keilhauer and sponsored by Colombo Design America. Gala sponsors are George Brown College’s Brookfield Sustainability Institute, Vogt and Landscape Forms.

Media Partners: Archello, ArchDaily, Archilovers, Archinect, Archiproducts, The Architect’s Newspaper, Architonic, Bustler, Design Week Mexico, v2com newswire and World-Architects.


January 2
Competition opens 

January 31
Early bird deadline 

February 23
Competition closes 

April 18
Finalists announced and People’s Choice voting launched

May 17
People’s Choice voting closes 

June 20
Winners are revealed 

Winners and finalists are celebrated at the AZ Awards Gala in Toronto and get published online and in print in the AZ Awards Annual – AZURE’s July/August issue.

AZ Awards 2024: Now Open For Submissions

Submit your best work to the 14th annual international competition, which recognizes excellence in design and architecture around the world.

We rely on advertising revenue to support the creative content on our site. Please consider whitelisting our site in your settings, or pausing your adblocker while stopping by.