Announcing the Winners of the 2014 AZ Awards

Announcing the Winners of the 2014 AZ Awards

Top players in the international architectural and design community, from Canada, the U.S., Brazil, Japan and beyond, gathered at Toronto’s Evergreen Brick Works on Friday night as Azure announced the winners of its fourth annual AZ Awards.

From a house that pulls apart and transforms into concert seating, to a home interior clad in striking pine plywood and a carpet tile collection that makes recycling a beautiful thing, the 13 winners of the AZ Awards demonstrate an expansive spirit of innovation. At Friday’s event, many of the winners took to the stage – some coming from as far away as Halifax and São Paulo – to receive their trophies, which were designed by Matteo Ragni, and crafted in Alpi’s reconstituted wood product. All 49 of the finalists, which were also up for People’s Choice awards, were applauded by a standing-room-only audience.

Taken together, all of the submissions – from designers, architects, firms and manufacturers, as well as students of design and architecture – represent a global snapshot of the world of architecture and design. Our international jury was also made up of some of the very best in their fields: designer Ron Arad of Ron Arad Associates (London), interior designer Diego Burdi of Burdifilek (Toronto), retailer Jamie Gray of Matter boutique (New York), Patricia Patkau of Patkau Architecture (Vancouver), and landscape architecture chair Charles Waldheim of Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design (Cambridge, US).

In March, the panel conferred at Toronto’s Hôtel Le Germain (Maple Leaf Square) to narrow down an impressive 652 entries from 36 countries to a shortlist of 49 finalists. From there, they selected the 13 outstanding winners listed below.



Best Residential Architecture: MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects: Cliff House, Nova Scotia, Canada


Best Commercial/Institutional Architecture over 1,000 square metres: Marlon Blackwell Architect: Vol Walker Hall and the Steven L. Anderson Design Center, Fayetteville, Arkansas, U.S.


Best Commercial/Institutional Architecture under 1,000 square metres: Kikuma Watanabe: School Floating in the Sky, Sangkhlaburi, Thailand


Best Landscape Architecture: Stoss Landscape Urbanism: The CityDeck, Green Bay, Wisconsin, U.S.


Best Temporary/Demonstration Architecture: Matthew Mazzotta: Open House, York, Alabama, U.S.



Best Residential Interiors:  i29 Interior Architects: Home 09, Bloemendaal, The Netherlands


Best Commercial/Institutional Interiors: Studio MK27: Cultura bookstore, São Paulo, Brazil



Best Furniture Design: Bensen: U Turn Chair, by Niels Bendtsen


Best Lighting: Castor Design: Coil Lamp, by Brian Richer and Kei Ng


Best Interior Product: Interface: Net Effect carpet tile, by David Oakey



Best Concept/Prototype: Line to Line Design: Tangent Clock, by Scott Sullivan


Best Unbuilt Competition Entry: REX Architecture: Media Headquarters Buildings, Middle East



Student Award: Design/BuildLAB (Virginia Tech): Smith Creek Park, Virginia, U.S.

For more images of the winners, visit

All winners and Awards of Merit are featured in the Annual Awards Issue, on newsstands today in Canada and July 7 in the U.S.

A word from our sponsors

A word from our sponsors